Dala Horse

One of the paintings I did for 30 Paintings in 30 Days was a Dala Horse. After I took a photo of it  I scraped it down to just the horse, because I wasn’t happy with it and left it for a later time. Today is that time. I woke up this morning thinking about how Dala Horses are really painted and found this video…

I love the way they dunk the wooden horses in the red paint…and line up all the colors with different brushes.

5970354485_21f6491c94

The photo above is from iHannah’s blog where she shows how Dala Horses are painted. So here goes…

PicMonkey Collage

The first picture is my dala horse…When I got to the 4th picture I wasn’t happy with it so I scraped it again and started over…Then when I put the collage together with the 5th picture, I compared it to the 1st picture and I wasn’t happy with it, so I scraped it again and here is the final painting…

dala7

GIFTED

A few little touch ups and then I’m quitting here. I really admire the Dala horse painters. It is really hard to paint these horses. But they do a lot of them one after the other so I guess eventually it becomes easier. 🙂

Here is the original Before and After…

PicMonkey Collage2

I think there is quite an improvement. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Dala Horse

  1. Great Karin. You are doing a beautiful job ont the Dala horses. Are you making
    a picture for me to keep. Love you Mom

  2. I think both the end paintings are pretty, but the first one is more of your personality and the second more like a picture of a dala horse. Thanks for the mention – and linking!

Leave a Reply

