Alabaster Box

Magdalene with Alabaster Box of Ointment
Giovanni Brilli (Italy)after Andrea del Sarto (Italy, b.1487, d.1531)

I love this painting and I love this song Sarah wrote.

Here’s my life
In this little box of alabaster.
It’s everything I have
My hopes and dreams ~ happy laughter.
You know, Lord
Without this I am nothing,
Since in this world
You have to have something to be someone.

There are two inside me ~
Pushing and pulling,
One wants You
The other wants everything else.

Here I am
At Your feet
Tears roll down,
Hair caresses.
One has won;
The other slinks
Away into the darkness.

I surrender my all to You,
My heart, my mind and all that I do.
I’ve broken my alabaster box in two
And poured it all at Your feet.

Because You’re the One
Who saves my soul.
You’re all that matters.
Your saving grace
Has made me whole;
That’s why I worship You.

That’s why I…
Surrender my all to You,
My heart and mind and all that I do.
I’ve broken my alabaster box in two
And poured it all at Your feet.

Leave a Reply

