A Wee Boat in Ireland

For a little while I thought there was a little Irish in me. My grandfather’s mother’s name was Lizzie Byrne or Bridget Burns, as recorded on his marriage and death papers, and my grandfather’s middle name was Burns…This is still a mystery to me, because now I have come to find out that his mother was from Germany and not a Burns after all…

Still, thoughts of beautiful Ireland, the legends of Tara, and long ago tales, continue to intrigue me. The deep thundering sound of a bodhran and the Irish fiddles…

Anyway, this is my painting from a picture book about Ireland…

One thought on “A Wee Boat in Ireland

Leave a Reply

